The Morning After

Yesterday was not a dream. It seems that the whirlwind that was my April 5 is now gone. Dad is sleeping more peacefully and soundly then he has in more that 2 weeks. The people here at the Gosnel House are great as they care for the families and patients alike.

There were quite a few people in here last night and I know that my father appreciated it.

The question “why us” briefly popped up in my head last night after I was left here alone with my Dad. The Holy Spirit quickly answered with, “why NOT you?” Darrin Patrick quoted Elizabeth Elliot yesterday when he said, ” God will not protect you from anything that will make you more like Jesus. ”

When we view every situation as good or bad, we tend to leave God out of it. When God’s grace shifts our thinking on these matters, we see every situation as not good or bad, but as an opportunity to give God more glory for what He alone has already done.

My father showed me the importance of daily communion with God. He showed me the importance of a local church body. He is currently showing me how to ” go out on top ” by taking care of the things to be cared for and not focusing on self. Up until his last coherent moment, he was trying to make sure Mom was taken care of.

In the world that we live in, it is not often that a man like me can look back at such a constant role model in his father. For that I am grateful. God deemed it necessary to be born unto Donald L Coldwell and I thank God right now for that decision of God’s.

I love you Dad. Soon you will be free of all disease and will be in your new body throwing the many crowns you have earned at the feet of Jesus.

Selah

3 Comments

Filed under Current Thoughts

3 responses to “The Morning After

  1. Dad and Mom Coldwell

    I can’t find the words that my heart is feeling. You are all doing an amazing work. To God be the glory!!!!

  2. Matt Dyer

    Donnie, thank you. Thank you for sharing what God is doing in your lives and hearts. I hurt for you all, but I also know the joy you set your hope in and that brings tears of sorrow and of joy to my eyes. Your posts are preaching to my heart to find rest in Christ. Thank you.
    -Matt

  3. End of life transitions are painful for those of us saying goodbye, no question about it. But Psalm 116:15 comforts me. It says “Precious in the sight of the Lord, is the death of his saints”. I pray that it brings peace to your hearts now too.

Leave a Reply

