Almost Sin

Is gluttony still a sin? From what I can tell, most people wouldn’t say so. In many cases in the Bible where we find the word glutton, we find it’s partner drunkard. In many ways I see this changing our perception of the word glutton. We know, well most of us know, that it isn’t the alcohol that is a sin. The sin involved is the allowing of the alcohol to lead us as our master. In many, if not most cases, this doesn’t even involve being drunk. Have you ever heard yourself say, “What a rough day, I need a glass of wine.”? It is so easy to say and convince yourself that you aren’t a slave. Here’s a question…when you say ‘need’ do you mean it? Relax…the same thing could be said about a piece of pie or a video game. If you need something other than Jesus to relax…it owns you.

As off the subject as that seems, it is still the picture we have in our head. Drunkards are the people who obviously have a problem. We think the same about gluttons. Gluttony only describes people other than ourselves. Merriam Webster defines gluttony as 1 a : one given habitually to greedy and voracious eating and drinking b : one that has a great capacity for accepting or enduring something <a glutton for punishment>. Ah, voracious…what a great word to get us all off the hook. We would never say that we are a voracious eater.

Here in the U.S. we have decided that we want what we want, therefore if I want to eat ice cream every day that is fine. It isn’t gluttonous because this is the U.S. and I have the freedom to eat whatever I want. If others were not able to eat because of my ice cream habit/addiction that might be an issue but that is not the case. I do not have the goal of attacking capitalism here but I will say that it does foster the gluttonous lifestyle. Excess. Everything is excess. I sin here like all of you do. I want, I need, I covet. Whether it is a new TV or a coffee that actually tastes good…I want.

I have been burdened with an understanding of my own gluttony. This is a sin. In the US we call it many things but mostly we call it our “freedom”. Blech…

As I look around I see many people who are gluttonous. Is that judgemental? Probably. I am hurting for others who do not see the excess in their lives both specific people and people in general. I continue to pray most specifically for my own forgiveness and sanctification as I seek to allow God to take away my gluttonous and drunkardly ways and lead me to repentance.

-Cheers

Leave a comment

Filed under Current Thoughts

Leave a Reply

