It’s Not Over

I am sad. Sad because of what I am seeing. Facebook and twitter are lit up. Blogs everywhere, and especially in Maine, are dripping with hate. Words are used. Attitudes are held. Fists are tightened. Lines are drawn.

I wish I knew which way Jesus would have voted on Tuesday. As I stood there at the Hollis fire barn with pen in hand, I prayed. I prayed that I would be true to my conscience which ultimately is the Holy Spirit. I prayed that God would give me one last measure of wisdom before I connected the arrow. I was literally shaking as I left the booth. Did I vote in honor of Jesus or not?

I know that most if not all of you are sure that there was only one way that honored God. And I have close friends who either would have, or did, vote both ways. Yes or no. No or Yes. There were a lot of issues that pressed on my decision. How the law in question was passed, how the Church is treated in that law, whether it mattered one way or the other…does this law change my role as a follower of Jesus Christ?

What I am seeing now is cause for concern. When facebook and twitter glow with praise that ‘our side won’ I immediately thought of the people dancing in the street on 9/11. I know it is much different, I am not trying make a connection other than that is where my mind went. “Down with those who do not believe as we do!” I’m having a hard time finding where it is our job to create a nation politically, in order to save people. I realize it is our job as Christians to vote…but in the words of Ron Sargent…”Change lives not laws.” And before the other guys get all excited…could you please give us a status or a blog without swearing or accusing of hate and bigotry? Is that all you have? The hate that spews/flows/gushes…can’t think of a strong enough word here…is astounding. I’m sure no one will remember this the next time it comes up for voting…which I am sure it will soon. Speaking of the next time. I wonder if the wording will be as kind to churches next time it is written and passed? Makes me wonder if it was as bad as people thought…will it be worse next time? No ‘clause’ protecting churches?

May the grace of Christ cover us all.

-Cheers

2 Comments

Filed under Current Events, Current Thoughts, Societal Impact

2 responses to “It’s Not Over

  1. Lori Rose

    You wrote it well….I absolutely understand where you are coming from. As I think of all the people who will no doubt be turned off from the gospel by the “yes” votes. AND the SIGNS on the edges of church lawns. I wondered, if I vote no, will it help bring more folks to the cause of the gospel than a yes vote? Strange, how many would be thinking that the only way to “promote the gospel” would be to vote yes. But alas…
    til next time as you say.

  2. Aunt Gloria

    Don,
    Thank you for putting your experience where others will see. It is sensitive and caring. Comments like yours will be noted and, I believe, will make a difference in someone else’s thinking.
    I don’t see how you could have gone wrong whichever arrow you completed, not with your heart struggling as it did. Whatever your vote, you were trying to hear God. It had to be the right line!
    You’ve always made me proud. I guess you always will!
    Hugs

Leave a Reply

