When Do We Become Out Of Touch?

It is inevitable. At some point we will not have any clue what is going on in the world. I don’t care how often you check the most popular tweets, you will eventually be out of the loop. We need to deal with it and move on.

Many of you I am sure have seen the recent Beloit College Mindset List and everything that is says about incoming college freshmen. In case you missed it, bottom line is this:

  • The “green giant” brings up visions of Shrek not veggie picker.
  • Salsa has always outsold ketchup.
  • The KGB never officially existed.
  • They have never used a card catalog to find a book.
  • Gas stations never fixed flats but most serve cappuccino.

This is interesting to me, however not shocking since these studies have been going on since the 80s, but interesting none-the-less since I am in the place where I could go either way with some of them.  A specific example is the green giant. If you were to asks me who the green giant is…I would say the veggie picker. However, I do not remember hearing about a gas station fixing flats except for stories from my dad. Ah the beauty of being an Xer.

So you see, at some point we will be out of touch when we come to the place where we do not see the world as our kids do. It is going to happen at some point. So, are you ready for it? I don’t think I am…well, I am ready to use all those saying like “when I was your age” and “we used to have to …”

It will be great. I just wonder when it will happen.

-Cheers

Leave a comment

Filed under Current Events, Current Thoughts

Leave a Reply

