My good buddy Soren

So I am trying to chew on this one…a quote from Kierkegaard. Here goes.

When a lark wants to pass gas like an elephant, it has to blow up. In the same way, all scholarly theology must blow up, because it has wanted to be the supreme wisdom instead of remaining what it is, an unassuming triviality.

Seriously this makes me giggle every time I read it. I know, I’m a guy but c’mon…

At first I was thinking about the action of blowing up an in a direction…up. Now I am starting to think that he intended to mean blow up as in explode. (If someone knows this please let me know) I know that my good buddy Soren wasn’t a huge fan of studying doctrine and theology and when one considers the time in which he lived, I can see that many people were thinking the same things. They just weren’t as flowery as he was. It is interesting to see that out of this quote we could get a view of this man that is not as accurate as would seem. Is he trying to say that people who study theology should just blow up? Well, yes. The point I am seeing however, is that when we make that which is for honoring God into something of an idol of God, we see a false god. We do not see the real thing when we look at theology instead of God. Theology comes OUT OF our gaze on God, it doesn’t lead us to God. His Word does this. Psalm 37:4-6 says:

Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act. He will bring forth your righteousness as the light, and your justice as the noonday.

The line that has struck me today is vs 6 that says He will bring forth your righteousness. When we I delight in Him, not books about Him or even sermons about Him, but delight in Him…HE will bring forth your MY righteousness. Theology comes out of His giving of righteousness. His giving of righteousness comes out of our delight. Our delighting of Him…grace. We can not delight in Him outside of grace. So…God’s grace leads to theology. When we lift that which is ultimately a gift of grace up as our god…we have idolatry. This continues to be my sin…not my only one mind you…but a sin. I love reading books. I have suggestions for you no matter what the topic. I love to learn stuff and know that there are times when God is glorified by that stuff. When I preach, teach, share with someone…even *gasp* take it to my own heart. Ah but alas this does not happen as much as should. I am more like those in 2 Timothy 3:7 that were always learning and never able to arrive at a knowledge of the truth. I have a hard time doing something about what I read.

This year has been a big change for me so far. Through the constant encouragement of good friends to let the Scriptures read me and the DA Carson book I rave about,, I am slowly coming to an understanding of how to allow the gospel to change my life through His Word. I encourage you to be more purposeful in your reading of Scripture. Don’t read just to read. I’ll let you in on a little something…I have read the Bible in a year…I’d still go to hell if it wasn’t for the gospel. Course that may be cause I read the Message one of those times but who’s counting?

-Cheers

Holy Father…cause me to desire and delight in You. Bring forth righteousness in  my life and give me the desires of my heart.

2 Comments

Filed under Current Reading, Current Thoughts

2 responses to “My good buddy Soren

  1. Lori

    The part that refers to the idolatry reminds me of what I’ve been reading in the book “The Myth of a Christian Nation” (by Gregory Boyd). Here’s a quote: “We have allowed our allegiance to the kingdom of God to be compromised by allegiance to our nation. We have far too often placed our worldly citizenship before our heavenly citizenship (Phil. 3:20) and allowed the flag to smother the cross”. Now, I’m not really trying to comment on the book per se, but just noting that it is certainly so easy to make ANYTHING into an idol. Good thoughts you shared! Thanks (also, you should really read the aforementioned book…you really would like it 🙂

  2. Great stuff, much needed!

    -Cheers man!

Leave a Reply

