Stop Not Leaning

Proverbs 3:5-7 says, Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths. Be not wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord, and turn away from evil.

I have been introduced to a study by CJ Mahaney on time, fruitfulness, and business; and today I re-read something that is causing me to stop and pray…AND most importantly to repent. The words of Charles Bridges in his commentary have paralyzed me as I look at Proverbs 3:5-7 for the first time again. Read those verses again then these words from Pastor Bridges.

Let our confidence be uniform. In all thy ways acknowledge him (Proverbs 3:6). Take one step at a time, every step under divine warrant and direction. Ever plan for yourself in simple dependence on God. It is nothing less than self idolatry to conceive that we can carry on even the ordinary matters of the day without his counsel.

He loves to be consulted. Therefore take all thy difficulties to be resolved by him. Be in the habit of going to him in the first place-before self-will, self-pleasing, self-wisdom, human friends, convenience, expediency. Before any of these have been consulted go to God at once. Consider no circumstances too clear to need his direction. (Emphasis mine)

In all thy ways, small as well as great; in all thy concerns, personal or relative, temporal or eternal, let him be supreme.

-Charles Bridges (1794-1869), from A Commentary on Proverbs (Banner of Truth, 1846/1968)  pp. 24-25.

Lord, let my pride fall down. Let my words be Your words. Grant me repentance for leaning on my understanding. Grant me the acknowledgment of You. Let my paths be made straight. Let me not be wise. Let me turn away from evil.

Let me know what you thought. I’d love to hear how these verses change how you live your daily life in devotion to God.

-Cheers

1 Comment

Filed under Current Reading, Current Thoughts

One response to “Stop Not Leaning

  1. Sharon

    reminds me to not be consumed with everything else and reminds me of where my focus should always be… thank you for sharing this! I never think to check your blog but today I saw the link and I’m glad I did.

Leave a Reply

