Coming Home

Wow what a week. I spent the first part of the week in Chi-town attending Harvest University at Harvest Bible Chapel in Rolling Meadows, IL. It was an overload of information as it was the first time I had been out to the ‘mothership‘ and also was trying to absorb the information during my daily workshops. It was a great opportunity to see what Harvest is all about and, how they can help me as I seek to be faithful in ministry. I see why Bill gets all excited about visiting there and why he is so gung ho about it. As a typical xer I am somewhat hesitant to buy into what I see as a little bit of hoopla but I understand the passion. I still don’t know those guys very well but I can respect them so far.

The latter half of the week was spent getting my temporary teeth put in (only two crowns), informing my students that the missions trip is cancelled/postponed, getting things done around the house, and getting ready for Sunday morning as I preached yesterday. (the church podcast should be updated later in the week – not sure what day they do that – Harvest Bible Chapel Scarborough, Maine)

All in all it was a good week and I am looking forward to applying what I learned out west to life out east. Although they never said this specifically, what I heard from them was, ‘if you preach It, they will come!’ I know that this isn’t some new way of thinking since It (the Bible) has needed to be the center of our worship since the dawn of time, however, I needed to be reminded of that this week.

I start the series on Jesus next Friday (9th) and I am looking forward to seeing what God does with us as a ministry. When we focus on Jesus we see just how much we need Him and what He says. We see where we are and we can therefore know where to start. Learning about Jesus forces us to change. We should be different having met with Him. If we aren’t any different, then we have, as James says, seen ourselves in the mirror and walked away forgetting what we look like! MEGANOINTA!

Where is God taking Harvest Scarborough? Where is God taking Harvest Youth? Where is God taking me? My goal is to know it when I get there but to not look forward so much that I don’t see what God is showing me on the way there. The fork is coming…which way will He take me?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

